Getting Started is the Hardest Part

“The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.”
-Walt Disney

I’ve been a procrastinator since pretty much forever. This is not a secret. I can remember many a night in high school spending hours talking online with friends and complaining about the work I had to do before spending maybe an hour on the paper itself.

This habit really only got worse through college as I discovered all sorts of ways to distract myself (along with a disturbing tendency to clean).

The latest development, though, is needing a special day or occasion to start my next project. I’ll start a new workout routine at the beginning of next week. I’ll start a new writing system next month. I’ll stop eating pizza for dinner every night when spring comes.

Even as I’m writing this post, I’ve gone through about three episodes of The Office.

But that’s not the point.

The point is that in order to get something done, you need to start it. And in order to start something, you need to close all those other tabs you’re wasting time on and do whatever it is you’ve been putting off now. Just get started.

Hence this blog. I’ve already done the hardest part. I’ve written a book and I’m shopping it around now. However, I need to keep writing and keep working on something.

So go get off facebook and go do that thing you said you’d start next week.

Leave a comment