NaNoWriMo Week 1 Report – Self Control is a Thing I Need.

The first week of NaNoWriMo is all but over. And I’m actually on track! I’ve broken 10,00 words. It’s kind of a miracle, given that I’ve had the attention span of a goldfish on a Halloween sugar rush this past week. The key for me has been going to the write-ins.

For those who don’t know what a write-in is, it’s basically exactly what it sounds like. You get together in a group and write. For about two hours. I’ve found I’m much more like to get something done if I know other people are writing and are thinking I’m writing. I’m kind of competitive like that.

However, I can’t go to write-ins everyday (though that would be awesome) and I know a lot of people can’t go to them at all.

So my second piece of advice is to turn off the internet. I KNOW it’s hard. But it will be there when you’re done. Probably. I recently read a post by Maureen Johnson about turning the internet off and she also mentioned this program that will turn it off for you so you can’t cheat! It’s called Self Control and it’s totally free to download for those of you who don’t have it, pun totally intended. I’m definitely going to be trying it out. Because I know that I do not have it when it comes to the internet and all the things that happen.

Now we’re going into the second week, and I’m a bit anxious. This first week was already kind of tough. I’ve been doing a bit more word padding than I’m comfortable with, but it’s ok because it’s a first draft and it’s allowed to suck!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Week 1 Report – Self Control is a Thing I Need.

  1. Julie Seibel says:

    I didn’t know you were doing a new blog for nanowrimo! 😀 good luclk this year!

    • lauren says:

      Yeah actually I’m trying to make this a whole thing, to make an online presence while I’m trying to get published. Apparently it’s something agents and houses are looking for now.

Leave a Reply

