NaNoWriMo – Getting to Halfway

In my opinion, reaching that 25,000 word mark is the hardest part of NaNoWriMo. Once you’ve reached that part, you’re halfway done. You know that you can write 25k, all you have to do is do it again. Plus, hopefully by this point you have your characters sorted out and some idea of what your plot is doing.

However, I’m struggling. I’m at 20k right now and can’t seem to get past it. I haven’t written anything for two days, as my handy little calendar widget on the sidebar will inform you, and I’m stuck in a plot. I know Point A and have and idea of Point B, but can’t seem to draw the line between the two. Also my inner editor won’t shut up.

Instead, I’ve been procrastinating like mad on tumblr, facebook, pintrest, the new Hunger Games trailer (which oh my gosh, you guys, this movie is going to be amazing), and the NaNo forums. I need to turn off the internet.

In other, actually helpful news, I found this little nugget, a writing cheat sheet, which will be really helpful in the future:

“Plots are covered on page 1, characters on page 2, and lots of tips to fill the whitespace. I created this just before NaNoWriMo 2011, to combine all my notes on writing and storytelling. It fits all on a double-sided A4 sheet, which you can keep in your back pocket. I hope you find it useful. Originally it was based on the cheatsheets at Inklicious.”

So hopefully other people find that as helpful as I do. Good luck getting to 25k!

Leave a comment