Homemade Caramel Apple Spice

So I’m about 6k words behind on NaNoWriMo, but I’m not too worried just yet, because I’ve had several 3k-4k days this month and if I focus, I can knock that out. And yes the widget in the sidebar is broken, but I don’t know why. The wordcount is accurate, though.

Instead, I’d like to share with you my beautiful discovery. Making a Starbucks’ Caramel Apple Spice at home. From scratch.

I don’t know what it is about November and December, but all I want to do is bake and cook, and this leads to all sorts of new experiments with recipes I found on the internet. This particular one turned out so well that I just have to share it.

The recipe for the drink itself comes from this site plus what I remember from when I worked there for a summer six years ago.

INGREDIENTS

Apple juice
Cinnamon Dolce Syrup *
Whipped Cream
Caramel Sauce

DIRECTIONS

Add your syrup to your juice, according to your preference. Roughly 6 Tbs (3 pumps if you’re fancy and have a pump) for 12 oz (1.5 cups) is the ratio Starbucks uses, but if you like it sweet, add more. Heat using your method of choice (I have a little cocoa latte machine).

Pour a little of the caramel sauce at the bottom of the cup, then fill with the cider. Add a layer of whipped cream and drizzle with a bit more caramel sauce in a swirl pattern.

 

*You can buy the syrup from Starbucks and sometimes Target, but I live in a land where I couldn’t get any. So I made my own using this recipe:

INGREDIENTS

* 1/2 cup white sugar
* 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
* 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
* 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
* 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (imitiation vanilla worked just as well for me)
* 1 cup water

DIRECTIONS

Stir together the white sugar, brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a small saucepan. Stir in vanilla extract and water. Bring to a rolling boil, stirring often. Continue to boil and stir until mixture thickens to syrup consistency. Remove from heat; cool 10 minutes before serving.

Makes about 2 cups.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Caramel Apple Spice

  1. Brianne says:

    Awesome! I got a bottle from Starbucks cuz I love it so much, but I’m excited you discovered the recipe! Genius! Best Starbucks drink ever.

Leave a Reply

